Panzerschreck Design Studio

Journey of a Wargamer – Comments welcomed

The Killing Ground

Posted by panzerschreckdesign on 2007, May 1


I’ve always been a fan of the Victory in the West system that came out of S&T magazine, so I was always enthuised about the prospect of playing The Killing Ground, Battle for Normandy July – August 1944. I’ve only managed a couple of playthroughs as I didn’t own a copy. Unfortunately it looked like I would miss out on my own personal copy as it’s now out of print, but thankfully I tracked down a copy last night and grabbed it. I don’t buy many boardgames these days,  and my future purchases are almost all ASL related anyway so when I do buy a new boardgame it’s an event.

Box Art

 

 I must admit I probably won’t get to play this again before I leave for Australia but I’m sure I’ll be able to grab some games of it once I’m over there for good. The D-day expansion is a must buy as far as I’m concerned, hopefully it’ll be available by the end of this year. I know that I’ve committed to buy a few more books on Normandy to help flesh out my understanding of the July-August battles (heretofore my knoweldge base was concerned with the June period and skipped ahead to September) particularly as it concerns the British and Canadian efforts.

 The Map

 Thinking about it, I may well just do some solo gaming between now and April to really get familiar with the rules as well as do a storyboard of the historical situation. Pretty well stoked I have my own copy of this now .

 

Leave a Reply

 
