Panzerschreck Design Studio

Journey of a Wargamer – Comments welcomed

The Perilous Amazon

Posted by panzerschreckdesign on 2004, September 6


Years ago, a couple of guys created an Advanced Squad Leader product called Time On Target. The first issue was a collection of themed scenarios set during the Battle of the Bulge and were released to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the battle. They attracted pretty universal acclaim for the obvious research and dedication that went into them. At the time they were amongst the best ASL scenarios released.

Then about a year or so later, Time on Target 2 was released. This dealt with actions in April 1945 that occurred in Northern Germany involving the British 21st Army Group and the opposing Germans. Unlike most late war situations which usually end up resembling a heavy metal car lot, this featured a huge range of actions drawing heavily from John Russell’s No Triumphant Procession: The Forgotten Battles of April 1945.

Because they fell outside the usual US-centric Western Front ASL view, this scenario pack appealed greatly and encouraged me to think about creating some scenarios for my renascent WW2 miniatures games. However obtaining the book upon which the scenarios were based became an issue unto itself. I did however find a copy of the 1945 Story of the 79th Armoured Division which helped in some regard.

To cut a long story short, I recently was able to obatin an excellent copy of Russell’s book and just from reading a couple of chapters today I’m left in no doubt that creating a set of scenarios for 15mm WW2 miniatures enthusiasts will be possible. I’d already done some planning over the years in terms of the ideal format and accumulating some of the necessary resources and tools, but now that I actually have the prime resource I can move on ahead with this project.

The project itself is no simplistic endeavour, as to fullly do it justice and make it useful to as many 15mm WW2 wargamers as possible, I’m going to have go outside the Flames of War parameters and include a couple more sets of rules. The key aspects of what i want to do involve presentation and feel. There will be no screes of bland text, but properly formatted and illustrated aspects, including specific articles on scratchbuilding and painting guides. I hopoe to make it available not only on the web as a stand alone series but also to provide PDF downloads so that people can print it out at their leisure and at a level of graphic quality that is unattainable through a webpage.

One Response to “The Perilous Amazon”

  1. First of all I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear
    your head before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
